Then and now

Tired eyes drifting into mine

I couldn’t take your sky blue eyes

God, they felt like a sunrise

It was the kindest hue I had seen in some time.

 

I tried to ask the obvious

And you would keep my gaze and smile

My tongue would freeze because I already knew

That our interlocked fingers had been still for a while.

 

I was so glad that I met you

But the clocks reflected my mind

A tick-tock reminder

That I was still filled with trauma

Like some twisted karmic trial.

 

Flooded by my own emotions

I choked on my breath

A show of hands, a sign of grace

I really felt it all when I saw your face.

 

So I proceeded with caution

Scared to whisper my emotional debt

In case it would eventually cause our death.

 

Back then I was a little needy

For trust and affection

All because of being jaded by a twisted soul

Who let me love without direction.

 

And that’s when our light hit blue

I ran from us, from you

Because all I have ever known was to be used.

 

And that’s not how I want it to be

To feel I must choose only one side of me

I am more than my traumatic entities

More than just a wardrobe of past insanity.

 

I hope you see this and it makes you feel

Because you drive me to be

Still, quiet and real

No bullshit, no lines

I just think I needed some time.

To gather my thoughts and my peace of mind.

 

Self-reflection has always been my best friend

And now that I really do love myself again

Would you be willing to put in your time

And see where this ends?

 

 

 

Leave a comment